Confession #1 – Social Media Overwhelms Me.

Social media = life. As they say, if it didn’t happen on social media, did it really happen at all?

Well, as much as I love to use, stalk people and post selfies on it, I find social media to be quite overwhelming at times. Why? Because I am a stress head and an over thinker (thanks brain – woo).

No, in all seriousness, social media can be pretty full on, and because there are so many different platforms you can use now, it can be hard to keep up; particularly when they change or update it (like Instagram’s new stories – all I can say is, Snapchat much??). And the thought of actively trying to run a business account on multiple platforms seems like a big task, especially when you are trying to embody your brand, consistently communicate across platforms about the latest offerings, while also being interactive with consumers.

Now don’t get me wrong, I love me some social media, but I am more of an observer then active poster, which is something I definitely need to improve on as a budding marketer.

So folks, I am gonna learn how to ‘social media better;’ because quite frankly, this is embarrassing –

Screen Shot 2016-08-07 at 4.44.37 pm

In a great journal article, Kaplan and Haenlein outline 5 points on how to ‘be social’ on social media – providing guidelines on how to use the Web 2.0 to your advantage in order to gain the most out of all of your social media accounts, both professionally and personally.

  • Be Active – If you want to build relationships with followers then you need to get active. Share, like, comment and post your heart out, across the mediums you think work best for you. But, there is a catch- you cannot post too much. There is a fine line between being active and overwhelming, and you don’t want to scare people off. So find that happy medium and go for it.
  • Be interesting – Find your point of difference and use it to your advantage. If you are posting the same stuff as someone else, why should people come to you? Find your unique point of view and love what you post, and the followers shall come.
  • Be humble – Don’t assume you know everything when it comes to social media. Be open to learn and accept advice from others, because there is always room to grow, and the last thing you want is to be perceived as ‘fake’ or ‘insincere’
  • Be casual – Especially for business accounts. Save the serious stuff for somewhere else; make social media fun, inclusive and engaging for all.
  • Be honest – Stay true to yourself, and be the best version of you. The last thing you want is a Taylor Swift and Kim Kardashian drama; own your stuff and keep it real.

One business I think is smashing it on social media is Oreo. Their quirky images, bright colours and interesting ways of showcasing their delicious cookies makes them so unique and likeable on their major social media platforms.

1.8 million followers on Instagram, 891 thousand on Twitter and over 42 million likes on Facebook – they are #goals for any brand, and I will use them as inspiration when I break out into the marketing world (Which is coming soon! One semester to go!)

 

So, now what? I am going to put these tips to the test and start to really open myself up to being an active social media participant, and no mere observer. I am going to step outside my comfort zone of just using my good old friend Instagram, and start to really use Facebook and Snapchat. I believe once you become better at communicating for yourself, the better you can communicate for a brand in the future.

So, what brands do you think use social media well? Do you have any tips on how to best use social media?

Until next time,

Chloe – The Stressaholic x

4 thoughts on “Confession #1 – Social Media Overwhelms Me.

    1. Hi lillianandmrk!
      Thank you for your comment!
      I totally agree, as I think being honest is definitely an important factor when it comes to building your online social media presence, which Kaplan and Haenlein outline excellently in their 2010 Journal Article ‘Users of the world, unite! The challenges and opportunities of Social Media’

      Like

  1. Hi Chloe!

    I totally agree with you how stressful social media can get both for individuals and businesses, especially when image is the most important thing nowadays. I believe the tips you gave to build up your reputation and image is really relevant and useful for everyone out there! I will definitely try to apply them for myself. Good luck to you too!

    Hardi

    Like

Leave a Reply

